Fake Smashbox?

Need help with anything makeup related? Get your questions answered here!

Moderator: Kat

Re: Fake Smashbox?

Postby icosmeticRN on Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:43 pm

YAY!! I am sooo glad u fought this and got ur money back!! awsome!!! and thanks for keeping us all updated on it too!! lipstickslightsabar is right..I bet she did give you a fake number and if want to pursue this further u should take her advice and google the number...anywho...you got ur money back...sooooo that is great news!!! :D
Human is beautiful, Perfect is boring
-Tyra Banks ANTM season 1
My Blog: Weighing Down on Beauty

http://icosmeticrn.blogspot.com/
Swap with me on MUA!
http://www.makeupalley.com/p~icosmeticrn
User avatar
icosmeticRN
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 8:48 am
Location: CT

Re: Fake Smashbox?

Postby NatalieSFH on Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:59 pm

Yea I googled it. It was a different Smashbox number with extensions and so I called the guy she told me to. He wasn't professional at all, but oh well. He just told me that she buys from them but the products are ''old'' and ''leftovers'' which could be why the quality was off.

And then I asked if it was old why was it being resold and he said that it's completely safe to use and etc etc.
I've had my other soft lights for over 6 months, possibly over a year and the back stickers are the same(the ''newer'' ones he said). This one must be much older than that if the back is different :/
Hi, i'm Natalie ={D
Image

My Youtube Channel(tutorials)
http://www.youtube.com/user/hystericc
My Makeup Web Store:http://strawberryflavoredhysteria.com/
Twitter:SFHysteria
User avatar
NatalieSFH
 
Posts: 611
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:01 pm

Re: Fake Smashbox?

Postby sweetr83 on Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:30 pm

I would call again. get a 3rd opinion- but its not nec because you got your money back. But like everyone else on here- it sounds like they are giving you the run-a-round. Boooo :D
~Rachel
User avatar
sweetr83
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:14 pm

Re: Fake Smashbox?

Postby dexter on Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:24 pm

I am the eBay seller that she bought the item in question from.

As I told NatalieSFH in the emails back and forth, we only sell authentic Smashbox items. I would like to try to clear up a few things that are apparently in question.

1. Smashbox's main offices are located in Culver City. The direct phone line that I gave her was to a senior manager that we deal with directly, at the Culver City location. That said, I have been there numerous times and the only makeup you will see there is in small quantities and is usually for promo/marketing purposes only. They're main warehouse is off-site about ~10 miles away. I referred to it as their 'Los Angeles' warehouse because most people don't know Culver City from Compton from Santa Monica, and all are generally considered part of 'Los Angeles'.

2. 'eBay' itself is not an authorized retailer. But, we are an authorized reseller for Smashbox and they are aware that we sell on eBay. We are one of only a few eBay sellers that have a direct relationship with Smashbox.

3. Most of the items we sell, like the Soft Lights shade in question, are discontinued, which is why you are able to purchase such items from us at prices that are below typical wholesale prices that Sephora, etc. would have paid for the same item when it was current. Most are only one season off (right now we have several items from the Muse collection from last Spring). Some are older, but all are still fresh and as good to use as the day they were manufactured. Smashbox is continually updating packaging and/or labels on several items, which is why some will differ from what is on a shelf at Sephora. Most items are not required to have expiration dates; while some items do have them, even though not required by law, products such as eye shadows, Soft Lights, etc. have a very long shelf life and so it's not generally a concern unless the items are very very old. Items with active ingredients, such as products with SPF protection, etc. are required to have expiration dates, so you should potentially be concerned if you buy one that does not. As MrsHernandez said, the label on the Soft Lights is the same label that is on several Smashbox items still being sold, but not all Smashbox products have identical labels, which is why it doesn't look the same as some other Smashbox products.

We try to provide the best customer service we can, and I feel that we did all we could in this instance to assure NatalieSFH of the authenticity of the product, even going so far as to contact an upper-manager at Smashbox and get the ok to have her call him directly with her concerns. We even refunded her money and let her keep the item. We didn't do this because we don't want to be reported as selling fake items, we did it because we try our best to make our customers happy and we value our reputation and 100% feedback score. All of the product we sell ships straight from Smashbox, so there really is no way for us to end up with counterfeit items. The sheer volume of sales we close (over 1200 per month) should further prove the legitimacy of our items, since there is no way Smashbox would let anyone get away with selling any large volume of counterfeit items.

If anyone has any further concerns I will try to resolve them. Thank you.

http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Dexter-Trading-Cosmetics
dexter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Fake Smashbox?

Postby makeupbyheart on Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:58 am

the makeup you bought is authentic culver city is part of los angeles. smashbox is set up in culvercity. trust me.
makeupbyheart
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:55 am

Previous

Return to Makeup Advice

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Mori, MSN [Bot] and 3 guests